Peace Love & Sillyness

Thanksgiving, Black Friday, Cyber Monday, Where’s My Money?

Posted on: 12/01/2010

Every year stores get decked out with new winter merchandise, holiday decorations, and new & cheerful employees. These are just a few of the things that occur year after year after year, but this year things seemed to go a lot more overboard than usual. While I was at home for Thanksgiving break I noticed that a lot of stores were advertising that their “Black Friday” sales were actually starting on Thanksgiving. How many people really go shopping on Thanksgiving rather than spend time with their family and/or friends?! Besides the sales beginning on Thanksgiving Day, they extended through not just the entire weekend but also on to Monday. And this year we (the public) referred to it as Cyber Monday, because apparently the sales were more for the online shoppers than those venturing out to the stores. In the past, I am usually reaching for my wallet as soon as I hear about the great deals being offered at various stores; however, this year I left it sitting in my purse. It’s not that the deals aren’t great or that I may not have too much spending money currently or that I haven’t decided on Christmas presents yet for the family, but it’s the crowds and also the fact that everyone seemed to forget Thanksgiving and skip to Christmas. From what I’ve heard from friends who were all over the country, Black Friday (and the entire weekend) had ridiculous lines. Why someone would want to wait 5 hours outside of Toys-R-Us just to get in completely baffles me or even waiting an hour in line inside of the store just to purchase the normally expensive jeans for a cheap price. People have lost their minds!! Maybe I’m just impatient, a grinch, or just possibly sane, but waiting out in the cold for hours just to get in to one store, then fighting over various items with other customers, & then waiting who knows how long to pay is not my idea of fun. I have a news flash for these ridiculous shoppers, the sales will be going on pretty much up until Christmas Eve. Sure, they may not be as great as the sales on actual Black Friday, but they’re still better than paying full price for some items. This goes for online shopping, as well. I noticed on Cyber Monday that some of the stores participating really just offered free shipping, which, I’m sorry, is no big whoop. I can buy something online with free shipping until December 17 most years. So if someone could eventually explain to me what the big hype for Thanksgiving, Black Friday, & Cyber Monday are sometime that would be wonderful, because clearly as I see it, it’s a waste of your time. And please, there is no way that I will believe that people go out just for the experience, because last time I checked getting hit by a cart or another person is not a great time. But congratulations to those of you who did shop on these days and got what items you wanted/saved on.

Leave a Reply

